DIY DishTowels

Two summers ago, I decided I wanted to learn how to sew.  After reading countless blogs on basic sewing techniques and simple beginner projects, I settled on trying this tutorial found on Sew4Home.  This site is filled with projects that it was actually overwhelming to choose.  When I have more time, I want to try my hand at making the Lil’ Chef Apron my for my guys.

I had a few friends in mind that had recently moved and I had wanted to make these dish towels as part of a housewarming gift.  I went to a local crafts store and purchased my fabric.  After some practice stitching, I was ready to get to work.  This was my first sewing project and think it didn’t come out all that bad!  It took me a bit longer than it normally would, but I was really taking my time with the measurements and trying not to let my stitches get too off track.

Since these dish towels pretty much only required a straight stitch, it was a great beginner project for me.  I definitely still need to practice straight sewing before I get too crazy with curves and fancy stuff.  One of these days I am still planning on making dish towels for our kitchen.  We’ve lived in our home for 8 months and haven’t done a set for us.

Take a look at the finished product:

Kitchen Towels close up

Kitchen Towels

Hope you get time to go over to this site out and find a new project for your home!

 

linking to:

Making the World Cuter Monday

Motivate Me Monday

2 thoughts on “DIY DishTowels

Leave a Reply

